Class Theme: Santosha/Contentment

The ability to accept what is, is the foundation to santosha. Santosha or contentment is one of the five niyamas which describe the ethical values in which we treat ourselves. The others: purity, discipline, self-study and surrender. Santosha is certainly a challenging lesson in particular as we face hard times, though it also gives us the strength to move forward. Santosha also reminds us of gratitude for what we have, letting go of what we don’t.

The following theme can be used either for your own personal practice, or for your group classes or one on ones that you are teaching. Everything below is just a guide based on my thoughts and experiences in the moment. Feel free to change anything to better suit your teaching/practice style or so that it feels more authentic to you and your own teaching voice. Namasté

Theme: Santosha/Contentment

Physical Focus: A lovely heart opening practice, so offering lots of healthy spinal extensions (camel, bow, fish) Also make sure there are lots of points for reflection and meditation throughout the practice.

Pranayama: Breath of Joy

Chakra: 4th chakra – Heart

Affirmation: I accept what is, I am enough, I am grateful

Mudra: Anjali mudra, palms pressed together at heart centre

Additional Notes: 

Incorporate readings from Yamas and Niyamas by: Deborah Adele 

Passages that I like:

“Always Getting Ready” p.120

“We are Responsible for our own Disturbances” p.123

Photo by mentatdgt from Pexels

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *